Lukulu district, also known as The Land of Plenty is situated in the northern part of western province. It is one of the sixteen districts in the province and shares local district boundaries with Limulunga in the south, Kaoma in the south-East, Kasempa in the North-East and Kabompo District in the North. To the west is the boundary with newly created Mitete District. The district has a population of 96,290 which is expected to grow at an annual rate of 1.5% (CSO 2022). The district has a surface area of 9,329.1 square kilometers, i.e. 10.3 persons per square kilometer. This creates a huge challenge in the delivery of services as significant resources are required to reach the small, scattered population without proper road network. The district has one constituency¬† with seventeen wards. The ‘mighty’ Zambezi River runs through the district boundaries making farming and fishing the main economic activities and has a great potential for tourism.